Basketball question from an outsider - facilities and staff

SoCon Champs - 2010, 2011, 2014, 2015

Moderators: BestOfBreed, dungeonjoe

Basketball question from an outsider - facilities and staff

Postby 94cat on Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:21 pm

I am a Davidson grad, but as my signature indicates, my father and grandfather both went to Wofford....so I've spent a good bit of time there over the years. I also had a few beverages in one of the fraternity houses there when visiting a number of friends of mine that went to Wofford.

Anyway, I have a question about the basketball program and the basketball facilities.

With all due respect, Benjamin Johnson Arena is substandard for a Division I basketball program. It is smaller than some high school gyms. I was commenting last night to a couple of people that the basketball facility has got to be a major detriment in recruiting. Is there any plan to build something better?

I'm going to speculate, so please correct me if I'm way off base here: It's almost like everyone (the AD and the coach) has been there so long that they are just conditioned to having those facilities and are so accustomed to that gym, that they have become content and can't see beyond it and the need for something better.

The AD, Richard Johnson has been since 1985 - he was the head basketball coach for 17 years (became AD in 2002). The current head basketball coach, Mike Young, was an assistant under Johnson for 13 years and has been at Wofford for a total of 19 years (part of the old regime, so to speak). Not much in the way of fresh ideas and attitude has been brought in for the basketball program since the mid 1980s. Yikes.

Maybe someone with a fresh set of eyes is needed there to bring a new perspective and new attitude to Wofford - regarding both facilities and the program?